The Return of the Black Dahlia

Now that the new Dunnett snare strainer is in, Norman, Shanna and I are going to be cranking out some of these little numbers.  They’re available on an order only basis, are done only one way, and come in any color you want as long as it’s black.

The sound is somewhat like a Black Beauty but a little fuller. They have a lot range tuning wise and I’ve got to say that I’m really proud of how good they sound as well as the number of well known and discerning players who own them.

One other thing that I want to say with some humility:  These snares are built from parts – I’m not in the back of the store rolling shells, casting hoops, and machining lugs and strainers.  But that doesn’t take away from how awesome they sound and look, and it took a lot of failures before getting the formula right. I wish that I had access to a bigger shop so that I could build some drums from scratch, but honestly I don’t know if they’d sound as good as these do.  Drop in and check one out and I’m sure you’ll be psyched.

John Fell

2 Comments to “The Return of the Black Dahlia”

  1. They look amazing John. The star badge is killer.
    I may come check one out, although i’ve never found a metal snare I liked. All wood 40’s Gretsch for me, they’re the only ones I can ever get tuned how i want with the calfskin head.
    What’s the $ may I ask?

Leave a Reply

